A Fleetwood Mac Attack!

USA-ENTERTAINMENT/

Last night I had the privilege of seeing Fleetwood Mac live at the O2. Two words summed up the experience for me; Mind. Blown.

I cannot believe these five musicians are still alive, let alone still being able to play music incredibly well.. it’s as if they have never aged. Like they have been held in a time capsule for the last 20 years at least because their performance was even better than the last time I saw them 6 years ago.

The O2 is a ginormous shed-esq venue. (For those in Perth it reminds me a bit of Burswood Dome… but bigger!) I was super lucky with my ticket, being that I went alone I was able to nab a seat directly in the centre of the stage, one level up. Deeeelightful! I could see the soundboard and the cameras, but none of it was in my way!

They began their set as they always do with The Chain.. I thought I was going to cry it was so good. They were note perfect and Lindsey Buckingham’s guitar solo sounded better than ever! It set the bar high for the rest of the set, I was left with goosebumps.

Much of the focus was on returning member Christine McVie who re-joined the band on this tour after nearly 20 years in recluse retirement. The addition of her songs to the set and her vocals to each song really propelled their performance. Her big songs like Everywhere and You Make Loving Fun had the crowd dancing in the isles. Speaking of dancing, as soon as the lights hit the stage the front rows of the audience turned into a bonafide mosh pit.. such a strange sight to see men and women in their 50’s and 60’s jumping up and down like kids, but it was great. The entire stadium had an electric energy, as did the band. They kept saying how thrilled they were to be back in London and back on tour, this being their 94th show on their current tour. I don’t know how they do it, it’s exhausting just thinking about it.. but they clearly love what they do. After each song you could see them basking in the afterglow, and Buckingham saluted the audience with his guitar several times, and jumped around on the spot like a kid on a sugar high. This could be their secret.. music is keeping them young.

FLEETWOOD_MAC_24_LIVEPIX

Stevie Nicks was her usual mystical self, dancing around the stage and hypnotising the audience. Highlights included her mega-hit Rhiannon and Gold Dust Woman. The latter involved a five minute dance routine that succeeded in putting the crowd in a trance like state. With the aid of background visuals and reverb on her vocals, they succeeded in transporting the audience to an entirely different place.

snicks-275x413

I have to say, Lindsey Buckingham may be one of the best guitarists in the world. His rendition of Big Love is spellbinding. Those of your familiar with the 1997 concert The Dance, will know the current format of the 1980’s hit. It is just Buckingham and his guitar, and he makes enough noise for 3 guitars put together. He backed this up with an 8 minute guitar solo in I’m So Afraid… It was tiring just watching..

By the time they got to Go Your Own Way the ENTIRE stadium was on their feet, and stayed that way for the remainder of the concert. They radiated so much good energy that the whole place felt like one giant happy place. It gave me one of those ‘moments’ when I caught myself thinking ‘God, I am so lucky to be here right now.. seeing one of my favourite bands, in London.. amazing’

For all my friends and family in Perth, if you haven’t got tickets yet GO AND SEE THEM. I have no doubt that the acoustics in Perth Arena would be better than the O2.. I daresay it will be the last time they all tour together so make sure you don’t miss it!

Here is their mammoth set list;

The Chain
You Make Loving Fun
Dreams
Second Hand News
Rhiannon
Everywhere
I Know I’m Not Wrong
Tusk
Sister of the Moon
Say You Love Me
Big Love
Landslide
Never Going Back Again
Over My Head
Gypsy
Little Lies
Gold Dust Woman
I’m So Afraid
Go Your Own Way

Encore;
World Turning
Mick Fleetwood Drum Solo
Don’t Stop

Second Encore;
Silverspring
Songbird

This was definitely one of my favourite gigs of all time. Well worth every penny spent, I am so happy I decided to see them at the last minute.. It didn’t even matter that I went solo, because I knew all the words to all the songs, which in itself makes you feel like you’re among friends.

N

Leave a Reply

