An Evening With Laura Marling

I didn’t think it was possible, but last night I fell more in love with Laura Marling.
She played a sold out show at Queen Elizabeth Hall in London, a great space with some of the comfiest seats I have ever encountered in a theatre. I couldn’t have been more than 50m away from the stage, perfect view.
The atmosphere was so serene to begin with, everyone waiting with baited breath for her start, and when she did the entire audience was captivated. There were no mobile phones waving in my way, no flash photography, no one pushing me out of the way or standing in front of me. Perfectly civilized.

She began her set with the opening track from her latest album ‘Howl’ which then blended perfectly into what has been referred to as,  the 15 minute mediation, the four tracks that open her fourth album; ‘Take The Night Off’, ‘I Was An Eagle’, ‘You Know’ & ‘Breathe’. Her set also included favourites; ‘Rambling Man’, ‘Goodbye England’, ‘Devil Spoke’, and new material ‘False Hope’, ‘I Feel Your Love’, ‘Walk Alone’, ‘Strange’, and a cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s ‘Blues Run The Game’.

I can honestly say, this was one of my favourite concerts ever. She is such a good performer live, flawless really and her band of guitar, double bass and drums complimented her perfectly. Some songs it was just her on an acoustic and the double bass, so beautiful. In fact, a grown man sitting next to me actually cried! (I’m amazed I didn’t) Can you believe she is only 25 and already has 5 solid albums under her belt?!

My view..

My view..

I did take a couple of videos but alas I am not able to upload them here, so I will try and add them to the Facebook page… in the meantime you can get the gist of it via this clip… Laura channels a bit of Dylan in her song Strange;

And she goes electric for the first time on her new album, this is ‘I Feel Your Love’

I am so glad I got to see her live, and I am really liking her new material. She’s branched out in a new direction which is incredibly brave and shows how much she has grown as a musician.

Pretty sure I will love her until the day I die.

N (a.k.a one satisfied customer)

 

 

3 thoughts on “An Evening With Laura Marling

    • It was Monday evening! Great blog, so glad you got the set-list, I couldn’t remember it all! Interesting about the backdrop, I thought it added a really nice touch to the setting.

      • Agree. I’d like to see Laura next time with a few musicians who challenge her a little more. She’s obviously fabulously gifted herself but the other guitarist didn’t add a lot.

        Still a wonderful concert though.

Leave a Reply

