Tours and Parks

The weekend just gone, I decided to take advantage of the sunny weather and get and about and explore after a few months of hibernating on the couch (as one tends to do in the winter!)

Saturday I had booked a tour of the Royal Albert Hall. This is a venue with so much history, I had always wanted to see the inside of it, but there weren’t any shows playing that I wanted to see, and for Β£7 I could walk around the entire place, so I thought why not!?

 

View from one of best seats in the house.

View from one of best seats in the house.

This hall has hosted countless events since the 1800’s including turning the whole place into a garden party, complete with grass and elephant! To hosting psychedelic rockers Pink Floyd who proceeded to destroy the stage… I don’t believe they’ve played there since..

The top section of the ginormous organ

The top section of the ginormous organ

This organ is still used almost on a weekly basis, it’s the largest in Europe!

A photo of Albert Einstein speaking here in 1930's.

A photo of Albert Einstein speaking here in 1930’s.

 

On Sunday I took myself on a free walking tour, The Secrets of London. It was really interesting, covering ground that I walk around daily, but divulging new facts and showing me things I never noticed. For example, on the side of the St-Dunstan-In-The-West Church, there is a statue of Elizabeth I, that was moved there from Ludgate in the 1700’s after the Fleet River was covered over to become what is now Ludgate Circus and Fleet Street. Amazing. (sorry I don’t have a picture of it)

 

IMG_4717

 

I had planned on going to a museum or something after the tour, but it was such a nice sunny day, I couldn’t bare to spend it indoors, so I proceeded to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens for lunch and a wander.

 

The Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens

The Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens

The Italian Fountains... used in the filming of Bridget Jones The Edge of Reason (fountain fight between Darcy & Cleever)

The Italian Fountains… used in the filming of Bridget Jones The Edge of Reason (fountain fight between Darcy & Cleever)

My view from lunch

My view from lunch

London is so stunning when the sun comes out. I am so excited for Summer to roll on in, even though it means the Tube is going to be utterly grotesque, it will be worth it to enjoy all the green spaces hidden away amongst the grey buildings in this city.

N

Leave a Reply

