Playing Host

I know I’ve been a little bit slack on the blogging front lately… sorry!

One of my friends from Perth, Julia came to stay with me a couple of weeks ago for a fun-filled weekend and despite the dismal weather London decided to put on, we had a marvelous time!

Saturday we set off to Spitafields markets where we were delighted to find a pop up Independent Market section, full of independent breweries and independent music labels! So beers in hand, we had a look through bucket loads of vinyl. Then we followed our stomachs to Brick Lane where we filled up on tasty samples from the food markets and a £1 bagel with cream cheese from Beigel Bake. Nom!

 

Camden Pills... delightful local beer.

Camden Pills… delightful local beer.

The most delicious bagels I've ever tasted.

The most delicious bagels I’ve ever tasted.

Then onto the main event… Karnivool at The Roundhouse. The famous venue that has hosted the likes of The Doors, Jimi Hendrix, The Rolling Stones, Blondie, The Ramones, The Clash… just to name a few!! Needless to say, this venue has been on my ‘wish list’ for a long time.. and what better band to see there than one from my home town of Perth. It is literally the best venue I have ever been to… you can see perfectly from every spot in the auditorium (provided you’re not behind one of the many pillars holding the place up!) and the acoustics are great. I hadn’t seen Karnivool in a couple of years, so it was nice to see they still haven’t lost their touch. They are such good musicians, if you closed your eyes you could have sworn you were listening to their recorded album. What was also nice, was talking to and seeing fully grown English men, turning into ‘fan girls’ and screaming along to the lyrics, word for word. I naively thought the crowd would be full of Aussies, there were quite a few but I think it was about half and half which is really refreshing! Oh and we also met a guy from Germany who had flown in especially for the gig.

A rather tall member of the crowd...

A rather tall member of the crowd…

 

Sunday could have easily been a recovery day, being that it was cold, windy and wet but when your guest only has one day left in this great city you can’t spend it on the couch! So we hopped on a bus and went to Greenwich. It’s only 15 minutes away from my house but it feels like you’ve left London entirely and entered a little seaside village. It really reminds me of Fremantle in Western Australia, with it’s traditional style buildings, giant ship museum (The Cutty Sark) docked in the centre of town and it’s many funky coffee shops and vinyl outlets. So we once again scrounged around in bins of vinyl and laughed at some of the ridiculous 45 covers.

So many 45's!

So many 45’s!

One of the many hilarious album covers found...

One of the many hilarious album covers found…

A quick stroll around the old buildings, passed Meantime Brewery and onto Greenwich Park. A park so big, that every time I go there I find something new. This time it was the Flower Garden, a ‘little’ fenced off area of the park with a more manicured garden feel and a pond!

IMG_4443

A section of the Flower Garden

 

I love making the most of my weekends, taking advantage of my weekly travel pass and exploring this great city. It is even better when you have someone to show it off to! So just putting it out there.. all visitors are welcome to tour London with me anytime!

Doing our best not to look too hungover..

Doing our best not to look too hungover..

N

 

 

Leave a Reply

