Station Eleven

You’ve got to love a good book, especially when it was recommended to you.

A few weeks ago I went down to my local Waterstones in search of something to read… I was in there for at least half an hour when, whilst looking at the ‘buy one get one half price’ table, with a book in hand, the sales assistant came up to me and said; “if you’re looking for something to go with that (Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain) try this… the book he handed me wasย Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel.

station-eleven-978144726897001

Firstly, I was really impressed by the service and the knowledge of the young gentlemen in Waterstones.. it’s not very often these days that the people selling the books actually know the stock, and are well read and can tell what people would like to read based on other choices they’ve made…

Secondly, the book is fantastic!! It’s like nothing else I have ever read.. without giving too much away, the world is struck by the Georgian Flu.. a new super-virus that wipes out 99% of Earth’s population.. the book then follows the story of the people who survived and now live in a civilization that no longer has the luxury of electricity, fuel, manufactured food.. the list is endless. You could mistake it for a depressing story, but it’s not at all. It jumps between post-flu world and pre-flu world in a really creative way. And throughout the book, I found myself gaining a new appreciation for the everyday things in life..

If you are looking for a good read, I really recommend it.

N

Leave a Reply

