Royal Blood

So since I’ve been living overseas, I’m not as ‘in tune’ with the music scene as I used to be. I stumbled upon this band Royal Blood a little late to the table, but it is my opinion that it is never too late to discover new music!
In the debriefing of Triple J’s Hottest 100 in which the general consensus was ‘where are all the guitars’? I find my guitar solace in these guys, they are punchy, refreshing and full of swagger.

Upon listening my mind wanders to a blend of Muse, Band of Skulls mixed in with the latest Arctic Monkeys‘ record. Who incidentally they supported last year.

These Brighton boys really know how to pack a punch of music genius.

One of the highlights on this album, for me is Little Monster with it’s raw guitar licks and it’s catchy chorus gives it anthemic qualities that circulate through your head until you want to pump the air with your fist and jump around… no matter where you are!

Out of the Black is the first single I ever heard from this band. It’s even edgier with it’s sharp drum beat that wakes you up immediately. The beginning part kind of reminds me of Rage Against The Machine.. proper head-banging stuff… but then Mike Kerr’s vocals kick in and it’s instantly updated and it draws you in.

This album came out last year, after playing T in the Park, Glastonbury and Reading festivals.
They’re gaining international success, they’re currently on a European tour, and in the summer they will be supporting Foo Fighters. Here is what Jimmy Page from Led Zeppelin had to say about them  “I went to hear them in New York. They were fantastic. Absolutely riveting, they’re such fine musicians.Their album has taken the genre up a serious few notches. It’s so refreshing to hear, because they play with the spirit of the things that have preceded them, but you can hear they’re going to take rock into a new realm – if they’re not already doing that. It’s music of tremendous quality.” 

They’re said to be working on their second album at the moment, and I personally can’t wait. For a two piece, they manage to sound like a full blown 5 piece rock band. If you haven’t already, get onto them!

N

Leave a Reply

