Winging it in the Kitchen

So this week I’ve re-discovered the Food Network… via their website since I don’t have a TV… But I’ve fallen in love with Pioneer Woman. Ree Drummond lives out on a ranch in Oklahoma and got her cooking show and cook book deals all from her blog! Anyway, she made a couple of amazing looking soups, one was a Broccoli Cheese Soup and the other was a Corn and Cheese Chowder. I couldn’t decide which one to try and make so I thought I would just try and combine the two and see what happens? Well.. I can tell you, magic happened that’s what.

IMG_2949

Pre-simmer stage… just looks like milk in a pot, until it gets nice and thick!

IMG_2950

I added cheddar and parmesan cheese for extra flavour

IMG_2953

I blitzed some of it up with a stick blender, gives it a bit more colour

I didn’t have much broccoli left in the freezer so I thought I could combine that with some corn and capsicum I already had in the fridge. Throw in some bacon for flavour and two types of cheese and oh my this chowder is soooo yummy, I basically licked the pot clean!

IMG_2955

Feeding the freezer with this lot, easy dinners coming up!

Here’s my recipe for anyone interested;

Vegetable & Bacon Chowder Soup
Ingredients:
1/2 an onion
1/2 cup of plain flour
3 cups of milk
1 & 1/2 cups of cheese
1 cup of chicken stock
1 or 2 rashes of bacon
Broccoli florets
1 capsicum
1 small tin of corn kernels
(the amount of vegetables isn’t really important, just use whatever you have!)

Method:
Fry off onion in a little bit of butter (gives more flavour than olive oil), then add in the bacon. Add in the vegetables and cook them for a couple of minutes. Sprinkle in the flour and cook off for a minute or so and then add in the chicken stock. Cook and allow mixture to thicken. At this point I seasoned well with salt and pepper.. just taste along the way, you may need to add more later.
Turn the heat right down and add in the milk. Stir to ensure the flour is mixed in, and simmer with a lid on for 20 ย minutes.
Once it looks nice and thick (or to the consistency you like) add in the grated cheese and stir through until it’s all melted in. At this point I used a stick blender to break up some of the broccoli (I used frozen so I couldn’t cut them up any smaller at the beginning).
Best served in a bread roll.

Enjoy!

N

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Winging it in the Kitchen

  1. Well, well, well…… I recently discovered this “pioneer woman” show too..
    Haven’t made anything yet though. Good to see you getting your confidence in the kitchen. ๐Ÿ˜œ

Leave a Reply

