Moving Away Is Bringing Us Closer

So I have been living in London for 3 months now… and one thing I have noticed is I seem to be speaking to my best friends and my family more now than ever! I definitely owe a whole lot to Viber, WhatsApp and FaceTime. I have several group messages going on Viber, one with my family and one with my best girlfriends who keep me sane. I speak to them every day. It’s the perfect platform for us to share our days, any news and pictures and videos of stuff we are getting up to. It also allows me to call home for free! Thank you WIFI!! It has literally saved my life over here… if I am ever feeling down or like I’m missing out on something, I can call straight away and satiate the craving.

My girlfriends are my close circle of friends that I have known for 20+ years. We are currently all living in different towns and cities, yet we are now closer than when we all lived in Perth together. I think when you tend to see people all the time you don’t necessarily speak to them often. Well not to the extent I have been over here. It’s a little bit of a case of taking what is in front of you for granted… Since I’m on the other side of the world I often feel obliged to share the ins and outs of my days in London, and how they are making me feel. I think I have had more in-depth conversations with those girls since I’ve moved than I have in the entirety of our friendships!

Something about being far away tends to make me more expressive.. I guess it’s a subconscious lack of fear, being so far away it’s almost a safe place to express your feelings without directly feeling any repercussions like guilt or judgement.

I am rambling a bit here, but basically I wanted to point out for anyone who is thinking of moving countries or cities and is scared of losing touch with friends and family. Don’t be! It honestly is such a small world with the invention of the internet (a fact that used to make me a little bit sad that everything is so instantaneous) but now I embrace it and I love it. It allows me to share parts of my new life with the people I care about most, as if they are along for the ride with me.. and at the end of the day, anything that is going to make my headspace as healthy and happy as possible is A-OK with me!

IMG_2596

N

Leave a Reply

