My Latest Obsession….London Grammar

Last year, London Grammar released their debut album If You Wait… sadly I only got onto this in the last 6 months..but I have become obsessed with it.

I literally cannot stop listening to it. I listen to it at least once a day.. I cannot get over the sheer beauty that is lead singer Hannah Reid’s voice. At only 24 she already possesses a voice worthy of someone triple her age. It is so rich and varied you can’t help but be hypnotized by it. I would even go as far as saying it is flawless… I have seen her sing live and it is exactly the same every single time.

The band’s musical style is a hard one to categorize. It is ‘Indie’ but I wouldn’t classify it as rock, the majority of their instrumentation is guitar, keys & drums but they manage to sound sort of Ethereal at the same time, as if their music is coming from this regal place that no common man could ever get to…

I could rave on about every song on this album, but I will just mention a few…

Wasting My Young Years is a good example of the band’s maturity. The song could easily be a simple ballad but they manage to keep the beat and rhythm in there with the use of keys. It is such a poignant  song essentially covering the topic a lot of people in relationships in their mid 20’s discuss… am I wasting my time with this person?

Strong is probably the most beautiful song ever written about an argument… this band has an uncanny way for making everyday instances sound like poetry…

I’ll leave you with Stay Awake… I love this song…

N

 

 

Leave a Reply

