In A Bubble With Paper Aeroplanes…

This past weekend I decided to do something I haven’t done in years.. I turned off my phone, for an entire day (I know..) and I picked up a book and I read it from cover to cover in a matter of hours.

I have always been a big reader, I make a point of reading every night before I turn out the light, and as of late I have taken to reading on the bus and train journeys to and from work. I LOVE reading, especially when you find a book that completely sucks you into it’s pages. I love nothing more than getting completely absorbed in a story, to the point where I get lost and forget where I am and what my name is!

This happened to me on Sunday. It had been so long since I allowed myself a whole day of indulgence with a good book (not since I was avoiding uni work!)

The book in question was Paper Aeroplanes by Dawn O’Porter.
9781471400360

 

It is essentially a story of best friends during that awkward phase of adolescence. As the story progresses we learn about each girl in the story and their home lives, which are both far from ordinary and we see their friendship developing on the page in front of us. It was really refreshing to read something that highlights the fact that no one’s family is ‘normal’ and that everyone has their issues, and as long as you have a best friend or someone you can trust and talk to, you will get through it and it will all be ok. This book is brilliant, seriously brilliant. O’Porter’s writing is so seamless that before you know it, you’ve read half the book! (This is exactly what happened to me! I couldn’t put it down, I just kept turning the page..) She doesn’t hold anything back in this story either, another refreshing point. She covers everything from periods to blowjobs to grandparents buying Shell suits thinking they are at the height of fashion. There were parts that made me laugh out loud and nearly squirt tea out of my nose and parts that genuinely made me well up with tears. It’s a complete journey from beginning to end. I was sad when I finished it, but luckily for us Dawn has written a sequel ‘Goose’, which I promptly ordered πŸ™‚

If you are a reader and never seem to have time for it anymore, I highly, highly recommend, clearing some space in your schedule, doesn’t have to be a whole day, maybe a Sunday afternoon where you designate ‘Me Time’. Find a comfy spot, put on some nice music, scented candles, whatever floats your boat – but make sure you turn OFF your phone! It seriously creates a lovely little bliss bubble, where no one can get in, where you can take your time to do the things you want to do, like reading a totally awesome book for four hours and not giving a damn if people are trying to contact you! I feel so much better for doing it, I woke up refreshed, without my usual Monday-itis this morning, I even managed a walk before work today!

Give it a go! Your soul (and nervous system) will thank you!

What books have swept you away into a bliss bubble?

N

 

Leave a Reply

