Calling All Cars

Calling All Cars are a rock band from Melbourne, Australia. They’ve been around for years and I have loved every single song they’ve come out with, I’ve always wanted to see their live set but it never happened… that is until Sunday night. I managed to see their show at the Indi Bar in Scarborough. A tiny little venue that gives the impression you’re in someone’s living room! I love gigs like these, where you are less than a meter away from the people making the music! In fact, I was so close to the stage I had one of those moments when the music is so good it’s hard to believe it’s being made by the three people in front of you…

Haydn’s voice was note perfect, every chord, every kick on the kit was spot on. You can tell these guys have put the hard work in behind the scenes because they are a tight unit and they sounded awesome! .. I had a big stupid smile on my face the entire time.

Their set had a good mix of old and new tracks, plenty of crowd favourites like Disconnect and Animal, as well as their recent Like A Version for Triple J, a cover of Talking Head’s track Psycho Killer.

photo (1)

Another advantage of going to a small gig is you quite often get to meet the band! That is exactly what I did – after grabbing a set list off of drummer James, I had a good chat to Adam the band’s bass player – really nice guys! They’re currently touring nationallyΒ to support their latest LP Raise The People.Β Β If you’re in the country I highly recommend going and seeing them. If not, they’re heading over to the UK later this year so if that’s near your neck of the woods, GO SEE THEM!

N

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

