2013’s Finest

Triple J’s Zan Rowe has listed her Top Songs of 2013 So Far and it got me thinking about what mine might be. Just about every month I compile a list of sorts (usually in the form of a playlist) of songs that are currently on repeat, something I may incorporate into this blog, but for now I’m going to go through what I believe are some of this year’s finest tunes.

Arctic Monkeys – Do I Wanna Know?

This is easily my favourite album of 2013.. it helps that Arctic Monkeys are my favourite band, so I was bound to like anything they released! But this track is soo super cool I never get sick of it. They’ve really grown up and changed their sound, and it comes with bags of sexy swagger, this whole album is on repeat in my house at the moment!

Arcade Fire – Reflektor

Even though this song was only released last week, I am in love. The band have gone in a different direction with James Murphy (of LCD Soundsystem) producing. It features David Bowie, it makes you want to bust out on the dance floor with some uber dorky dancing, and it has ridiculously catchy melodies throughout.

Haerts – All The Days

I hadn’t heard of this band prior to Zan Rowe playing it on her show. I got an instant crush on this song, it’s got a beautiful summery vibe that brings a smile to your face and has you swaying along to the music before you even realise you’re doing it!

Rudimental – More Than Anything (feat Emeli Sande)

Rudimental’s album is up there in my top 10 of 2013, this track in particular has the ‘instant wake-up call’ effect. No matter what mood I am in, this song can snap me out of it and get me dancing.

Laura Marling – Devil’s Resting Place

I obsessed over this album upon it’s release this year. I love Laura Marling, she can do no wrong in my book. This track in particular showcases her use of different song structures and keys to what she usually goes for. It’s a refreshing change, and a beautiful one.

MS MR – Fantasy

This song stays with me every time I hear it. It always gets stuck in my head, and her voice is so unique with the beautiful husky tones to it, I love it.

Queens Of The Stone Age – If I Had A Tail

This album is a cracker. Good old QOTSA rock and roll. It helps that my favourite man Alex Turner lends his vocals skills to this track, but it’s still catchy as hell.

Delphic – Baiya

I waited patiently for Delphic to release a follow up to their 2010 release Acolyte. This track is the highlight for me, catchy poppy tune that you want sing along to.

The Strokes – 50/50

This punchy little number is my highlight from this album. Although they haven’t officially released it, the main guitar riff that carries the song is so damn catchy I challenge anyone not to move during it!

N

Leave a Reply

